This Week on The Space Show

This week on The Space Show with Dr. David Livingston:

Tuesday, November 29. 7 PM PST ( 9 PM CST; 10 PM EST): We welcome TOM GARDNER to the program from Advanced Space to discuss the CAPSTONE Project – Cubesats and the Moon!

Wednesday, November 30. The John Batchelor Hotel Mars Program. Please see the Upcoming Show Menu on our home page, www.thespaceshow.com, for details for this week’s program. The Upcoming Show Menu is to the far right side of our home page. Hotel Mars is pre-recorded by John Batchelor.

Friday, December 02. 9:30-11 AM PST; 11:30 AM- 1 PM CST; 12:30-2 PM EST: We welcome back Dr. Pete Worden for Breakthrough updates and much much more. Don’t miss this discussion!

Sunday, December 04. 12-1:30 PM PST, (3-4:30 PM EST, 2-3:30 PM CST): We welcome GURBIR SINGH back to the show regarding his new book. For details, please see the Upcoming Show Menu on our home page.

NASA’s Lunar Flashlight SmallSat Readies for Launch on Wednesday

This illustration shows NASA’s Lunar Flashlight using its four-laser reflectometer to search for surface water ice as it makes a close approach over the Moon’s South Pole. (Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech)

PASADENA, Calif. (NASA PR) — When NASA’s Lunar Flashlight launches no earlier than Nov. 30, the tiny satellite will begin a three-month journey, with mission navigators guiding the spacecraft far past the Moon. It will then be slowly pulled back by gravity from Earth and the Sun before settling into a wide science-gathering orbit to hunt for surface water ice inside dark regions on the Moon that haven’t seen sunlight in billions of years.

(more…)

The Week in Launches: A New Set of Solar Arrays Arrived at ISS

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket lifts off from Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida with a Cargo Dragon spacecraft carrying more than 7,700 pounds of research, hardware, and supplies as part of the company’s 36th commercial resupply mission to the International Space Station on November 26, 2022. (Credits: NASA TV)

SpaceX launched a resupply ship that delivered a new set of solar panels to the International Space Station (ISS) during a week that saw four launches from the United States, China and India.

(more…)

China to Send New Space Station Crew, SpaceX to Launch Private Mission to the Moon & New Chinese Rocket to Debut

HAKUTO-R lander on the moon. (Credit: ispace)

China will send a new crew to its space station and SpaceX will launch a private mission to land on the moon for a Japanese company this week. A Chinese company is also set to conduct the maiden launch of a new orbital booster during a week in which six flights are scheduled from three nations.

(more…)

Virgin Orbit Abandons Securities Offering Amid Shrinking Cash Reserves, Financial Losses and Launch Delays

Cosmic Girl with LauncherOne attached during a dress rehearsal for a flight. (Credit: Virgin Orbit)

Virgin Orbit (NASDAQ: VORB) announced last week that it has abandoned plans to sell additional securities “due to current market conditions” amid shrinking cash reserves, a declining stock price, financial losses and regulatory delays in launching satellites.

(more…)

SpaceX Launches Cargo Ship to International Space Station

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket lifts off from Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida with a Cargo Dragon spacecraft carrying more than 7,700 pounds of research, hardware, and supplies as part of the company’s 36th commercial resupply mission to the International Space Station on November 26, 2022. (Credits: NASA TV)

KENNEDY SPACE CENTER, Fla. (NASA PR) — SpaceX’s 26th commercial resupply mission for NASA is on its way to the International Space Station.

(more…)

HBO Docuseries on Richard Branson

Video Caption: If you’ve learned the art of trying the impossible…you can do the impossible with anything.” #BransonHBO, a four-part @HBO original documentary series chronicling the many adventures and ventures of @RichardBranson, premieres December 1 on @HBOMax.

NASA Awards 2 Launches to Rocket Lab for TROPICS Program

TROPICS mission CubeSat (Credit: Blue Canyon Technologies)

NASA has selected Rocket Lab to launch four Time-Resolved Observations of Precipitation Structure and Storm Intensity with a Constellation of Smallsats (TROPICS) spacecraft after the original launch provider destroyed the first two in a launch failure.

(more…)

Falcon 9 and Vega-C Launches Delayed

Falcon 9 launches Starlink satellites. (Credit: SpaceX)

SpaceX Falcon 9 launches to the International Space Station and the moon and the second flight of Europe’s Vega-C rocket have been rescheduled due to various reasons.

(more…)

Whatnot Launches Black Friday Giveaways with Once-in-a-Lifetime Trip to Space

New Shepard launches on its 21st flight of the program. (Credit: Blue Origin)

LOS ANGELES (Whatnot PR) — Whatnot, the largest live shopping platform in the U.S., today announced the kickoff of its biggest Black Friday shopping event ever, ending with an out-of-this-world opportunity to win a flight to space with Blue Origin.

(more…)

Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving!

For your holiday enjoyment, I present Turkeys Away!

Posts will be light over the four-day holiday weekend. Normal operations will resume on Monday.

Successful Launch of EUTELSAT 10B: a Satellite Bringing New Inflight and Maritime Connectivity Services

Eutelsat 10B satellite (Credit: Thales Alenia Space)
  • Incremental HTS Ku-band capacity addressing demand in mobile connectivity
  • Substantial firm commitments from leading in-flight connectivity service providers
  • Ensuring service continuity for customers on EUTELSAT 10A

Paris, 23 November 2022 – Eutelsat Communications (Euronext Paris: ETL) has announced that the EUTELSAT 10B satellite was successfully launched into Geostationary Transfer Orbit by American space launch provider SpaceX using a Falcon 9 expendable rocket that lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA at 21.57 pm Eastern time on November 22nd(corresponding to 2.57 am UTC and 3.57 am CET on November 23rd). The separation of the all-electric satellite occurred after a 37-minute flight and the spacecraft systems checkout was then successfully completed over a period of approximately 3 hours.

(more…)

ESA Announces New Class of Astronauts

ESA’s new class of astronauts includes career astronauts, members for the astronaut reserve and astronauts with a physical disability for a feasibility project. They will start a 12-month basic training at ESA’s European Astronaut Centre in spring 2023. (Credit: ESA – P. Sebirot)

PARIS (ESA PR) — The European Space Agency has chosen 17 new astronaut candidates from more than 22,500 applicants from across its Member States. In this new 2022 class of ESA astronauts are five career astronauts, 11 members of an astronaut reserve and one astronaut with a disability. 

(more…)