Launch Weekend: Firefly Hopes Second Time is the Charm, Two Starlink Launches with BlueWalker 3 Aboard

Second Firefly Alpha rocket on the launch pad at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California. (Credit: Firefly Aerospace)

Firefly Aerospace is hoping the second launch of its Alpha booster is the charm on Sunday. The Texas company will attempt to launch the rocket with eight small satellites from Vandenberg Space Force Base. The launch comes just over a year after an Alpha rocket failed on its maiden flight after a first-stage engine shut down.

Launch Vehicle: Firefly Alpha — SCRUBBED
Date: Sept. 11, 2022
Launch Window: 6:00-10:00 p.m. EDT; 3:00-7:00 p.m. PDT (22:00-02:00 UTC on 11th/12th)
Webcast: https://www.youtube.com/c/EverydayAstronaut

Firefly Alpha Launch No. 2 Payloads

SatelliteTypeOrganization(s)Purpose
TechEdSat-15 (TES-15)CubeSatNASA Ames / San Jose State UniversityTechnology demonstration
TIS SerenityCubeSatTeachers in Space, Inc.Education
PicoBusPocketQubeLibre Space FoundationPocketQube deployer
FOSSASAT-1BPocketQubeFOSSA SystemsTechnology demonstration
GENESIS-LPocketQubeAMSAT-EAAmateur radio
GENESIS-NPocketQubeAMSAT-EAAmateur radio
QUBIK-1PocketQubeLibre Space FoundationTechnology demonstration
QUBIK-2PocketQubeLibre Space FoundationTechnology demonstration
Source: Wikipedia

SpaceX Launches

Date: Sept. 10, 2022 — SUCCESS!
Launch Time: 9:10:10 p.m. EDT (01:10:10 UTC on Sept. 11)
Location: Kennedy Space Center, Fla.
Payloads: 34 Starlink and BlueWalker 3
Webcast: www.spacex.com

SpaceX has planned a Starlink launch doubleheader for this weekend. The first launch will include AST SpaceMobile’s BlueWalker 3 satellite, which is designed to provide space-based cellular broadband service.

Date: Sept. 11, 2022 — RESCHEDULED SEPT. 13
Launch Time: 10:53:20 p.m. EDT ( 02:53:20 UTC on Sept. 12)
Location: Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Fla.
Payloads: 54 Starlink
Webcast: www.spacex.com