Roscosmos Approves Space Station Crews for 2022-2024

The space station is viewed from the SpaceX Cargo Dragon during its automated approach before docking. (Credit: NASA TV)

MOSCOW (Roscosmos PR) — The interdepartmental commission on the selection of cosmonauts has confirmed the prime and backup crews of long-term expeditions to the International Space Station of Soyuz MS crewed spaceships in 2022-2024.

The flight (crew confirmation took place in May 2021) of Roscosmos cosmonauts Oleg Artemyev, Denis Matveev and Sergey Korsakov as the ISS-67 crew, on Soyuz MS-21 in March 2022, has been confirmed.

For the first time in the ISS history, the Soyuz crew will consist of three Russian professional cosmonauts.

Roscosmos cosmonauts Sergey Prokopyev, Dmitry Petelin and Anna Kikina have been confirmed as the ISS-68 prime crew (confirmed in May 2021), flying on Soyuz MS-22 in September 2022.

In addition, the Soyuz MS spacecraft crews launching in 2023-2024 for the first time include cosmonauts from the 2018 draft: Konstantin Borisov, Alexander Gorbunov, Alexander Grebenkin, Alexey Zubritsky, Sergey Mikayev and Oleg Platonov.

In case Roscosmos and NASA sign an agreement on integrated crewed flights to the ISS, Anna Kikina is to be included in the Crew Dragon (flight USCV-5) prime crew, with the launch expected in August 2022, and NASA astronaut Francisco Rubio will take her place in the Soyuz MS-22 prime crew.