RSC Energia President Awarded International Man of the Year Award

Vitaly A. Lopota

MOSCOW (RSC Energia PR) — The Sergius hall of the cathedral of Christ the Saviour became the venue for the ceremony to award the international Man of the Year 2012 prize to persons and organizations from Russian Federation and other countries for outstanding achievements in science, culture, public administration and politics, economics, education, medicine, small and innovation business, sports, etc.

RSC Energia President and General Designer V.A. Lopota was awarded the prize in the Economics category for personal contribution to the development of rocket and space technology.

In the Public Administration category, the prize was awarded to: President of the Russian Federation V.V. Putin; President of the Republic of Belarus; A.G. Lukashenko, President of the Republic of Kazakhstan; N.A. Nazarbaev, a counselor to the President of the Russian Federation; and member of the Russian Academy of Sciences S.Y. Glaziev.

Among 2012 winners in other categories are public and political figures, business managers, representatives of science and culture including: extraodinary and plenipotentiary ambassador of the Russian Federation D.G. Zavgaev, People’s Artist of the USSR, I.D. Kobzon.

In the category Organizations and Companies of the Year the awards went to such organizations as All-Russian State TV and Radio Broadcasting Company, editorial board of the newspaper Rossiiskaya Gazeta, editorial board of the newspaper Literaaturnaya Gazeta, editorial board of the newspaper Kultura, Mosfilm film studios.

For reference:

  • The Man of the Year prize was instituted by the Russian Biographical Institute as a national prize and has been awarded since 1993. Starting from this year, it has become an international prize.
  • The final list of prize winners is put together upon the recommendation made by members of the council of experts taking into account public opinion polls conducted by mass media and internet. Selection criteria are the candidate’s achievements in his professional sphere, his activities in spheres of strategic importance for Russia’s development.
  • The winners of the prize in previous years included a member of the Russian Academy of Sciences Zhores Alferov, a member of the Russian Academy of Sciences and the Russian Academy of Medical Science Leo Bokeria, Mayor of Moscow Sergei Sobyanin, film directors Nikita Mikhalkov and Vladimir Bortko, writer Alexander Solzhenitsyn and other representatives and other representatives of Russian society and people from abroad.
  • You can find information about the prize and its award ceremony at the web site of the Russian Biographical Institute