Gov. Perry to Attend XCOR Press Conference in Midland

Gov. Rick Perry. (Credit: Gage Skidmore)

Texas Gov. Rick Perry will be in Midland on Monday to welcome XCOR Aerospace to the state, CBS 7 reports. XCOR officials will finalize a $10 million deal with the Midland Development Corporation and the City of Midland to relocate the company’s headquarters and research and development operations from the Mojave Air and Space Port in California. XCOR plans to maintain some presence in Mojave.

The schedule for events for Monday:

12 p.m. EDT/9 a.m. PDT: Press conference, “Old Ami” Hangar, Midland International Airport
3 p.m. EDT/12 p.m. PDT: Media teleconference

The 62-year old Republican governor, who has been in office since 2000, has been active in courting space companies to the Lone Star State. He recently met with SpaceX Founder Elon Musk to discuss state incentives aimed at supporting the company’s plans to build a spaceport on the Gulf Coast near Brownsville.

It is unclear how much state funding, if any, is included in the XCOR deal that MDA and Midland city officials will approve on Monday.