Bob Richards, Odyssey Moon Nominated for Tech Awards

Loretta Whitesides has this update on Odyssey Moon on the Google Lunar X Prize website:

We are pleased to pass on the news that Bob Richards and Odyssey Moon have both been nominated for World Technology Awards in the category “Space”- part of the World Technology Awards initiative held in association with TIME magazine, Science magazine/AAAS, and others.

Previous nominees and winners will vote on the winner. The Winners and Finalists will be announced from the stage at the “black-tie” World Technology Awards gala ceremony, to be held on the evening of July 16th, 2009, at the conclusion of the two-day World Technology Summit at the historic Time & Life Building in New York City.

Read the full post.

A description of the summit and awards from the organization’s website:

On July 15th and 16th, at the TIME Conference Center in New York City, many of the most innovative people and organizations in the science and technology world will come together for an historic gathering – the 2009 World Technology Summit & Awards, the eighth Summit and ninth Awards thus far! – to celebrate each other’s accomplishments; to explore what is imminent, possible, and important in and around emerging technologies; and to create the kinds of serendipitous relationships that create the future.

All are welcome to register to participate as a delegate (we promise to confirm registrations promptly) and/or to be considered for exhibiting from the floor, demo-ing from the stage, or serving as a sponsor.

The majority of Summit participants are either current WTN members (primarily winners/finalists from previous World Technology Awards cycles, as selected by their peers as those doing the innovative work of “the greatest likely long-term significance”) or 2009 Award nominees. A combination of keynote talks, panel discussions, and breakout sessions… and potentially-career-altering-networking opportunities over two days will conclude with a gala black-tie Awards ceremony on the second night. Click here to see what people have to say about the experience.

Previous space award winners include:

Space (Individual)
Eric Anderson
Roger-Maurice Bonnet
Peter Diamandis
Burt Rutan
Steven W. Squyres
Martin Sweeting
David Thompson

Space (Corporate)
“Cassini-Huygens Mission” (NASA / ESA / ASI)
Surrey Satellite Technology
X PRIZE Foundation
XM Satellite Radio