Nominations are in for Arthur C. Clarke Awards

Nominations are in for the Sir Arthur C. Clarke Awards, which recognize the top UK achievements in space. The public nominate candidates, who are voted on by representatives of the space industry, research institutions, universities, and space-related organizations.

Some names on the list you might notice: millionaut Richard Garriott, Hyerbola’s Rob Coppinger, and commercial space pioneer Chris Stott.

2009 Nominations

Achievement in Education
Martyn Chesters
Debbie Parker
Chris Welch
Andy Willis

Best Corporate/Team Achievement
The ATV Team, John Ellwood: ATV project manager
The BIS IAC Team
Space Exploration Technologies Inc. (SpaceX)

Best Individual Achievement
Frédéric Descamps
(Note: website is at
Richard Garriott
Andy Willis

Best Space Reporting
Dr Emily Baldwin
BBC Science News Team
(Note: The citation was for “Paul Rincon in particular, along with Pallab Ghosh, Christine McGourty and James Morgan”)
Rob Coppinger

Best Student Achievement
David Boyce
Henry Hallam
Joe Myerscough and Mat Stracy

Best TV / Radio Presentation
“Brits Who Made The Modern World”, directed by Barnaby Peel
Charles Chilton (Note, this was accepted as being “current” due to the re-broadcasts on BBC Radio 7)
“The Satellite Story”, produced & directed by Dan Walker

Best Written Presentation
“Red Moon Rising” by Matthew Brezezinksi
(Note: Only one nomination, but still voted for by the judges, rather than a “No Award”)

Inspiration Award
Richard Garriott
Nick Spall
Lord Drayson

Outreach Award for the Public Promotion of Space
The UK IAC 2008 Team under BIS and Richard Brook

Paul Deer (Note: website at
Nick Spall

Space Entrepreneur
Richard Garriott
Chris Stott