Dmitry Rogozin Proposes the Creation of an Eurasian Space Agency

Roscosmos head Dmitry Rogozin. (Credit: A. Savin)

MOSCOW (Roscosmos PR) — “I would like us to discuss the issue of creating the Eurasian Space Agency today,” suggested the head of Roscosmos, Dmitry Rogozin.

His idea was supported by all forum participants.

The Business Forum of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) “Space Integration” is taking place in Moscow. It discusses issues of digitalization of the rocket and space industry in the EAEU space, the prospects for industrial cooperation, as well as the use of the results of space activities in the interests of the socio-economic development of the EAEU countries and the prospects for cooperation in the field of fundamental and applied space sciences.

Editor’s Note: EAEU is composed of the following nations:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Russia
  • Uzbekistan
  • Moldova (observer)
  • Cuba (observer).

All but one of the above countries are former Soviet republics. The former republics not on the list include:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Estonia
  • Georgia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine.

Estonia joined the European Space Agency (ESA) as a full member in 2015. Latvia and Lithuania are associate members of ESA, which is a step toward becoming a full member. Ukraine signed a cooperation agreement with ESA in 2008.