FSDC Opens Nominations for 2014 Bumper Award

FSDC PR — The Florida Space Development Council, a statewide chapter of the National Space Society, invites nominations for the 2014 Bumper Award, provided annually to individuals or organizations that have had the greatest positive impact on Florida’s space industry, or to Floridians who have had the greatest impact nationally. FSDC members and non-members are encouraged to submit 2014 nominees using a simple online form, available here. Nominations will be accepted through November 1, 2014.

SpaceX President Gwynne Shotwell was selected for the award in 2013, based on her company’s growing role as a disruptive force for positive change at the Cape Canaveral Spaceport, and as a catalyst for boosting Florida’s state and local government support for the space industry.

Launched on July 24, 1950, the Bumper was a modified German V-2 rocket with a U.S. WAC Corporal upper stage (built by Douglas Aircraft Co.). After a series of Bumper test launches at New Mexico’s White Sands Proving Grounds in 1948 and 1949, Bumper-8 became the first rocket launched at Florida’s new Joint Long Range Proving Ground, from Launch Complex 3 on what is now the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station. Bumper was our nation’s first multi-stage liquid engine rocket and it led to the development of a series of other space launch vehicles.