Space Frontier Foundation Announces NewSpace Award Winners

sff_logoSILICON VALLEY, Calif. (SFF PR) —  Join the Space Frontier Foundation (SFF) to felicitate the recipients of the 2014 NewSpace Awards at the NewSpace 2014 Awards Gala on July 26th at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, San Jose.

This year, the Foundation recognized a multitude of accomplishments over the past 12 months, giving out awards in five categories. Below is a glimpse of this year’s awards and award winners who will be recognized at the conference.

Vision of Reality

This award is for outstanding achievement in the development and operation of a device, system, or entity that forwards the opening of the Space Frontier.

The NASA COTS (Commercial Orbital Transportation Services) program was chosen to receive the Vision to Reality Award for pushing and helping to develop the commercial space industry through the achievements of Orbital Sciences and SpaceX.

The Foundation chose to bestow the Vision of Reality Award, its highest accolade, for the first time in three years.

Pioneer of NewSpace

This award is for an individual who was an early leader and pioneer in the creation of the NewSpace industry, and who has left a lasting legacy either through their own personal investment or the creation of an early NewSpace business enterprise.

Patti Grace Smith, former FAA Commercial Space Transportation Associate Administrator, will receive the Pioneer of NewSpace Award for conceiving and implementing a pro-commercial space regulatory environment.

Vision of the Future

This award is for outstanding achievement in presenting the possibilities of the Space Frontier to the general public. It is awarded to a future-oriented, entertainment, media-related project (i.e. film, TV, radio), primarily the science fiction genre.

Kerbal Space Program (KSP) has proven itself as an influential public force. KSP is a computer-based simulator allowing the user to create his or her own space program based on actual materials and physics.

KSP receives the Vision of the Future Award for teaching the public about how a space program operates in addition to showing what the NewSpace industry is capable of.

NewSpace Journalism

This Award is for outstanding achievement in journalism that is especially NewSpace focused.

This award goes to NewSpace Global for their meticulous reporting on the NewSpace industry and space development and settlement.

NewSpace Global illustrated its dedication to NewSpace by having sections like Observer, a company-by-company database of information and analysis, and NewSpace Watch, which provides comprehensive coverage of industry news and events.

Service to the Frontier

This award is granted to members of the Foundation who have been nominated by their peers as showing exceptional volunteer service.

The Foundation wishes to thank Aaron Oesterle for his service as Policy Director and Assistant Conference Chair and Paul Fuller for his work as the Foundation’s Treasurer.

Aaron Oesterle, is a professional space activist, and is currently an Associate at PoliSpace. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the Space Frontier Foundation, as the Policy Director. He is also currently serving as the Assistant-Chair of the NewSpace 2014 conference.

Paul Fuller has played an instrumental role in managing the finances for the NewSpace conference. Now the Finance Manager for the Foundation, he is responsible for establishing finance processes and tracking the budget.

These awards will be given out at the Awards Gala on July 26, during NewSpace 2014. Tickets for the event are $175 and can be purchased on the Foundation’s website under the NewSpace 2014 registration by following this link: