UK Space Conference Set, Arthur Clarke Award Finalists Announced

The UK Space Conference 2010 will be held at Charterhouse School in Goldaming, Surrey from March 24-28.

UKSC brings together members of the UK space community including: students, young professionals, academics, institutions, organisations and commercial ventures. They are able to take part in lectures, panel discussions, networking opportunities, a careers fair and other events.

Beyond the conventional speakers, debates and discussion sessions, the conference aims to include a wide range of activities, attracting a large population base and inspiring young people to take a greater interest in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

There is a day aimed at Kids and teachers followed by three days of presentations from Academia and Industry, discussions, a careers event, social events and an exhibition.

The Grand Finale of the conference is the Sir Arthur Clarke Gala Awards Ceremony. The UK Space equivalent of the Oscars a ‘black tie’ event and attended by the elite of the UK Space community.

This year’s nominations are:

Best Film/TV/Radio Presentation
James May – The Moon
Michael Potter – Orphans of Apollo

Best Space Reporting
Jonathan Amos – BBC Online
Will Gater – Sky at Night Magazine
Ben Gilliland – The Metro

Corporate/Team Achievement
ESA – Herschel and Planck
QinetiQ – Ion Engine Team
SSTL – The Disaster Monitoring Constellation

Becky Parker
Helen Baraclough and Space Connections
Marek Kukula

Richard Branson – Virgin Galactic
Chris Stott – ManSat LLC
David Williams – Avanti Communications

Individual Achievement
Prof Matt Griffin
Prof Richard Holdaway
Adrian West

Inspiration Award
Nick Spall
Anu Ojha
Tim Peake

International Award
International Space University
Elon Musk
XMM – Newton Team

Outreach Award for the Public Promotion of Space
EADS Astrium Team
Steve Owen – International Year of Astronomy
Dr Tracey Dickens – Space School UK

Aron Kisdi
Ryan Laird
Ben Rozitis & Naomi Murdoch with Thomas de Lophem