California Space Authority to Honor SpaceX, Buzz Aldrin and Star Trek’s Nichelle Nichols

25 September 2009

The California Space Authority (CSA) announced the 2009 California SpotBeam Award Winners today. The awards will be formally presented at the California SpotBeam Awards Dinner on Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at The Proud Bird Restaurant in Los Angeles, California.

“The SpotBeam Awards program, CSA’s signature event of the year, serves to recognize and honor the exemplary accomplishments of individuals, organizations, and programs that have contributed to the success of California space enterprise in the past year,” said CSA Executive Director Andrea Seastrand. “The nominees for each category of 2009 SpotBeam Awards in this, its sixth year, were all of such high caliber, that it was extremely difficult to narrow the selection to just one winner. This is a testament to the preeminence of California’s space enterprise community in all four domains – industry, government, academia, and workforce, and why CSA is privileged to showcase this talent to our state and nation.”

The 2009 SpotBeam Award categories and winners include:

  • Federal Leadership Award – Joseph Rouge, Director of the National Security Space Office (NSSO)
  • Business Development and Retention Award –®
  • The Buzz Aldrin Space Education Award – Industry Initiatives for Science and Math Education (IISME)
  • The Buzz Aldrin Space Workforce Award – California Launch Vehicle Initiative (CALVEIN), represented by Dr. Eric Besnard (CSU Long Beach), and Garvey Spacecraft Corporation
  • Civil Space Award – 40th Anniversary, NASA Apollo 11 Mission
  • National Security Space Award – Defense Support Program, represented by the Space & Missiles Center at Los Angeles Air Force Base and Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Commercial Space Award – Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX)
  • Space Innovation Award – Google Earth
  • Space Manufacturing Award – Next Intent
  • International Space Award – French Aerospace Valley
  • Space Science Research Award – Space Sciences Laboratory
  • Space Entertainment – Actress Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek (2009)
  • California Astronaut Hall of Fame (Former Astronaut) – Dr. Ellen Ochoa
  • California Astronaut Hall of Fame (Current Astronaut) – Dr. Gregory Chamitoff
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Buzz Aldrin
  • New Space Professional Award – Dr. Patty Chang-Chien
  • Small & Disadvantaged SBA – UDASH Inc.

For more information on the dinner, registration and each award winner and category, go to: